“Expressions of Nature” featuring local artist Julie Cook

expression

Penitentiary Glen Reservation
March 21 through May 17 • 9 am to 5 pm
 

Lake Metroparks opens its 29th year of art shows with its annual spring art show, “Expressions of Nature,” featuring local artist Julie Cook 

Energy. Expression. Inspiration.

Discover how local artist Julie Cook brings the elements of Energy, Expression and Inspiration together to create unique mixed media paintings inspired by nature.

“I like to create art for others and hope they enjoy my experimentation,” says artist Julie Cook. “Many of my paintings are painted using more than a brush—and often without one. I use cardboard scraps, pieces of wood, plastic from packaging and more. Sometimes I paint from an actual ‘real’ place and put my own interpretation on it, and some of my paintings are a collaboration of the nature that surrounds me where I live or where I’ve been or sometimes just where I’d like to be.”

“Expressions of Nature” will be displayed at the Penitentiary Glen Nature Center in Kirtland. The show opens March 21 and runs through May 17. Hours are 9 am to 5 pm daily. Admission is free. Julie’s artwork is available for purchase; with proceeds benefitting Nature Center programs.

“I like to create art for others and hope they enjoy my experimentation,” says artist Julie Cook. “Many of my paintings are painted using more than a brush—and often without one. I use cardboard scraps, pieces of wood, plastic from packaging and more. Sometimes I paint from an actual ‘real’ place and put my own interpretation on it, and some of my paintings are a collaboration of the nature that surrounds me where I live or where I’ve been or sometimes just where I’d like to be.”

“Expressions of Nature” will be on display at the Penitentiary Glen Nature Center in Kirtland. The show opens March 21 and runs through May 17. Hours are 9 am to 5 pm daily. Admission is free. Julie’s artwork is available for purchase; with proceeds benefitting Nature Center programs. 

Discover the sights and sounds of wildlife at the interactive Nature Calls exhibit. Watch and listen to birds and other wildlife through the award-winning “Window on Wildlife.” Browse the Nature Store for nature-themed gifts, bird feeders, t-shirts, field guides, toys, children’s books and more. Visit native Ohio animals at the Kevin P. Clinton Wildlife Center where injured and orphaned wildlife is rehabilitated and animal ambassadors educate visitors of all ages. Hike more than 8.5 miles of scenic trails, discover the beautiful butterfly gardens or enjoy a leisurely picnic on the grounds of Penitentiary Glen Reservation.

Penitentiary Glen Reservation is located at 8668 Kirtland-Chardon Rd in Kirtland. Take I-90 to Rt. 306 south for about one mile. Turn left onto Rt. 615. Turn right (east) onto Kirtland-Chardon Road and continue for two miles. Penitentiary Glen Reservation is located on the right (south) side of the road.

For more information view website.

Press release submitted by:
John Venen
Promotions and Advertising Manager
Lake Metroparks
o: 440-639-7275 x 1914

About NorthernOhioTourism.com

We are Ohio's website for events, attractions, accommodations, restaurants, camping, local businesses, farmers' markets, antique and craft fairs, Ohio festivals, ghostly things and so much more
This entry was posted in Lake Metroparks, Ohio Tourism, Things to Do in Northern Ohio, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.